You are currently viewing Zanu PF Provincial Election appeals will amount to nothing: sources

Zanu PF Provincial Election appeals will amount to nothing: sources

Zanu PF Provincial Election appeals will amount to nothing: sources

A flurry of complaints presented to the Zanu PF Politburo on Wednesday demanding re-runs and alleging election irregularities in the recently held Provincial Executive Elections, will amount to nothing with the party content with the results, albeit controversial, highly placed sources have said.

The Zanu PF Politburo endorsed results of the recently held Provincial Executive Elections with Zanu PF secretary for information Christopher Mutsvangwa acknowledging the complaints but in the same vein saying the elections reflect the growth of intra-party democracy in the party.

“There will not be any major shifts because the PB has endorsed the results,” said a source.

“The appeals are dead rubbers. What will be difficult now is that the new chairpersons who won will find it hard to work with the people that are already on the ground, for example in Masvingo Ezra Chadzamira’s team won at districts and he lost at the chairperson post.”

Speaking to the media during Wednesday’s post Politiburo press briefing Zanu PF Mutsvangwa said the ruling party’s decision making organ had gone “through all the complaints and came up with a format” which will deal with the complaints.

“There were complaints coming from all provinces and they were all attended to. Those that don’t affect the final outcome will be attended to,” he said.

The Politiburo meeting was held as the disgruntled contenders had presented petitions to President Emmerson Mnangagwa detailing poll manipulation in Masvingo, Mashonaland Central, Manicaland and Mashonaland East provinces and demanding re-runs.

The new Zanu PF Provincial Chairpersons include are Jabulani Sibanda for Bulawayo, Kazembe Kazembe – Mashonaland Central, Godwills Masimirembwa – Harare Province, Mike Madiro – Manicaland Province.

Matabeleland South will be led by Mangaliso Ndlovu, Mashonaland West Province Mary Mliswa Chikoka, Robson Mavhenyengwa will lead Masvingo Province, Daniel Garwe – Mashonaland East Province while the Midlands Province will be led by Larry Mavima.