You are currently viewing Central committee elections: Mupfumira among Zanu PF elites uncontested as Chirau falls

Central committee elections: Mupfumira among Zanu PF elites uncontested as Chirau falls

A host of Zanu PF members where strangled out of contesting the Zanu PF central committee elections held on Saturday to pave way for Zanu PF heavyweights to win uncontested.

Former Cabinet Minister Prisca Mupfumira, who is currently facing fraud charges, won the Zanu PF Central Committee (CC) Makonde women’s quota polls after Martha Munondo-Tafirenyika was disqualified at the last minute, allegedly on the basis of lacking seniority.

She had earlier been cleared by the party’s headquarters but a late phone call from Zanu PF provincial political commissar, John Yotamu, informing her of the disqualification, elbowed her out of the race.

In Makonde, deputy information minister Kindness Paradza won uncontested after Phineas Makumbe withdrew.

“I Phineas Makumbe do hereby withdraw my candidature for the central committee elections for Makonde district owing to the unethical and dirty politics being exhibited by my opponent Kindness Paradza,” Makumbe wrote in his withdrawal letter.

There were no elections in Bindura and Shamva as Kenneth Musanhi, Monica Mavhunga and Remigious Matangira (Bindura) and Sydney Chiwara, Nicholas Goche and Paul Dzawanda (Shamva) sailed through uncontested.

In Mashonaland West, Ziyambi Ziyambi, Kindness Paradza, Douglas Mombeshora and Mupfumira won with no contest.

In Mutasa, Mike Nyambuya, Irene Zindi and Tendai Samanga made it, while in Nyanga, Cdes Supa Mandiwanzira, Chido Sanyatwe and Moses Gutu were duly elected as well as Information Communication and Information Technology, Postal and Courier Services Minister, Jenfan Muswere, in Manicaland.

Mutare Urban saw Isau Mupfumi, Misheck Mugadza and Judith Mawire romping to victory. In Zimunya-Marange, Cdes Mike Madiro and Admire Mahachi made it.

In Chipinge, Charity Billa, Julie Faira, Dorothy Mabika and Winnie Mlambo were elected, while in Chimanimani, David Chemusaiziva, Joshua Sacco and Nokuthula Matsikenyere made it.

Former Health minister David Parirenyatwa, politburo member Tendai Chirau and ex-wife of ruling party deputy president Kembo Mohadi, Tambudzani lost in their respective elections.