You are currently viewing 18 magistrates sworn in

18 magistrates sworn in

Zimbabwe’s total of magistrates is now at 235 after 18 magistrates were sworn in on Monday by acting chief magistrate Faith Mushure at the Harare Magistrate Court.

The new magistrates will help in speeding up in clearing the matters that have been stalled by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“We swore in 18 magistrate and 16 were female and 2 were male to us we promote gender balance and as you are aware we have male magistrates who were dominating the judiciary. We now have 235 magistrates in total around the country,” Mushure said.

“We are in the process of building more courts there are projects that will see more courts being build. We have a backlog due to the Covid-19 pandemic and most trials were not being carried out in favour of remands and this caused many cases waiting for trial to be on rise. ”

The new magistrates who took the oath are Hezel Tariro Chimbire, Ayanda Phyllis Dhlamini, Jacqueline Ngwarai Gwara, Tafadzwa Gwaze, Gamuchirai Gore, Patricia Gwisai, Caroline Kaitano, Zibusiso Linda, Chiedza Manase, Nyaradzo Sarudzai Manokore, Nothando Mathe, Tariro Mudzingo, Fungai Muringi, Ivy Musavengana, Polite Mushangazhike, Maxwell Ncube, Noticia Shenje and Rejoice Sibanda