Artistes snub ZIMA awards, bribery allegations emerge

Politician Joseph Chinotimba graced the ZIMA awards on Saturday
  • Artistes accused of paying kickbacks to win
  • Nominated artistes abscond the awards

ARTISTES snubbed the Zimbabwe Music Awards |(ZIMA) held on Saturday at Highlands Country Club amid accusations that bribery reigned supreme.

Nominated artistes who were conspicuous by their absence include Ammara Brown, Andy Muridzo, Freeman, Alick Macheso, Baba Harare, Winky D among others.

Artistes who spoke to Zim Morning Post accused ZIMA management for receiving kickbacks to from some undeserving artistes.

“The awards were marred with corruption , we know of certain artistes o paid to win awards.

“How can Janet Manyowa win that award ahead of Mai Charamba and how can DJ Stavo win any award,” lamented an artiste who spoke on condition of anonymity.

ZIMA chief executive Reason “Rizzla” Sibanda  refused to comment over the allegations.

Winky D’s manger Jonathan Banda also refused to comment on his artiste’s absence.

“I will not comment on why Winky D was not present, my lawyers advised me not to comment over that matter,” he said.

Zimbabwe Music Awards is an annual awards ceremony to recognize and honour musical excellency, creativity and cultural diversity in Zimbabwean music.

Here are the winners:

Best Female Artist of the Year — Gemma Griffiths

Best Male Artist of the Year — Ishan

Best Group/ Duo of the Year — Fusion 5 Mangwiro

Best Newcomer of the Year — Ishan

Best Album of the Year — Gango – Freeman

Zimdancehall — Freeman

Sungura — Nicholas Zachariah

Hip Hop — Takura

Afropop — Ishan

Contemporary Gospel — Janet Manyowa

Traditional Gospel — Mambo Dhuterere

R&B & Soul — Gemma Griffiths

Jazz — Willis waTaffi Afirika

Dance (House/Gqom/Kwaito/EDM) — DJ Stavo

Tshibilika — Clement Magwaza

Traditional Folk (Chinyakare/Chimurenga) — Andy Muridzo

Traditional Folk (Ezomdabu/Imbube) — Indosakusa

Best Alternative — Sylent Nqo

Special Awards

Zim Icon – Retro Female — Chiwoniso Maraire

Zim Icon – Retro Male — Simon Chimbetu

Lifetime Achievement Award — Andy Brown

Best International Zim Artist — Sha sha

Best Collaboration — ‘Mugarden’ – Winky D ft. Gemma

Best DJ — DJ Stavo

Best Promoter — Impala Car Rental

Best Corporate Sponsors — Econet Wireless

Technical Awards

Best Music Video — ‘Ngaibake’ – Freeman ft. Alick Macheso

Videographer of the Year — Umsebenzi Ka Blaqs

Producer of the Year — Oskid

Engineer of the Year — GT Beats

Song of the Year — ‘Murgaden’ – Winky D ft. Gemma Griffiths

Leave a Reply